Please visit our sponsors

Rolclub does not endorse ads. Please see our disclaimer.
    Feedback Score
    Thanks

Default Passive Income Ideas For Rural Preppers

I have recently became a land owner and I'm interested in ideas for passive income. I am a farmer by trade but I'm not confident in farming being a great way to reliably pay the bills, especially if you don't have a lot of land for row crops and don't want to have a confined feeding operation for livestock.

Technically passive income is defined as earnings derived from a rental property, limited partnership, or other enterprise in which a person is not actively involved. The way I'm using the term however isn't exactly the technical definition. I am interested in ways to make money from my land that involve very limited action on my part, but not necessarily entirely passive if that makes sense. I've been told by many that passive income is the key to building wealth in the long term. I don't trust the stock market, and I also don't trust the value of precious metals in a long term SHTF or TEOTWAKI, because you can't eat gold.

So that leaves me with a few options I've been considering. One is to raise quail alongside my chickens that I'll have anyway to be released onto my land for customers to use it as a hunting preserve. I would rent out use of my back twenty to people interested in doing some hunting.

Another option is to build a shop, garage, or similar structure near my front gate and to try to have part of my land re-zoned for commercial activities. I could rent out the commercial space to a business interested in using it.